Posted by: Intan Kartika | November 9, 2009

Emancipation (re-post)

This morning, while I
was sipping my coffee and cheese muffin, a question popped out my head. Not at
the right time, actually, because I was supposed to think about the definition
of war crimes for my thesis, but… yaah… what will you do when another thing
distract you and there’s nothing you can do to resist it? =p

Lets talk about this…
how do you define the emancipation of women?

Is it just nowadays
women can do work in the same position of men? Or do you think is okay if right
now the head of a family is a woman?

Honestly, at first I
thought the definition is that simple, but when I think about it again, I feel
there is something wrong with that.

Just imagine what
condition women had a long time ago. They have no right to choose, they’re just
force to BE what they’re supposed toBE, DO what they’re supposed to DO. And
sadly, there’s nothing they can do about it. Some are quite content to live in
the security their family had given to them, or some just held the bitterness
for cannot tell what they actually thought.

Euh, if I was living in
times like that, I will re-define the meaning of happiness by myself. I mean,
there are no happiness at all in the world of women, how they can strive for
their own happiness (like desiderata says) when they do not even have chances
to do that?

-oh, God, this pastry
is so good-

So, when I think about
this, my friends tell me something that Hillary Clinton said, that the
definition of emancipation is not that simple, it is not just the equality
between men and women at work or anything. It is the chances that modern women
now have. To be able to choose.

Either they decide to
work as a carrier women, or to stay at home, mind their own families, or to be
alone for all of their life. That is the real emancipation.

What I was wondering
right now, did all of women knows that? Because right now, I’m afraid, they
become the victim of emancipation itself. When they force to do something they
did not intend, and they did that just because their society is forced them to
do so?

I mean, it’s okay, if
women only want to stay at home, learning how to cook, or how to sew, and
prepared themself to get married. –though, it is so not me-.

They have right to not
going into college if they’re aren’t willing to do that. Got my point?

Good.

Because, now, I have to
go back to what I’m doing earlier. =]


Leave a comment

Categories